Apple Tree

By The Editor

Association: The line ‘If I bought her flowers, maybe we’d go skinny dipping in the hot tub like we used to. I’d pick leaves out of her hair when they fell from the apple tree.’ From Room 669.

A leaf falls from the tree and settles on her hair. It’s dry and crisp, curled into an odd shape on her head. I lean forwards and take it from her, my arm drips with water from the hot tub. She giggles. I crunch the leaf in my hand and break it into tiny pieces, then blow it back at her as though its fairy dust.

‘For you’ I say, as if it’s a gift I have just bought and wrapped. ‘I’m sorry I forgot.’

This story is less than 100 words in celebration of National Flash-Fiction Day, which  takes place on the 12th May 2012. See their competitions page for details of how to submit stories of no more than 100 words.

3 Comments

Filed under Prose

3 responses to “Apple Tree

  1. Pingback: Room 669 | there.was.nowhere.to.go.but.everywhere

  2. Pingback: viii | there.was.nowhere.to.go.but.everywhere

Leave a Reply

